## JOHNSON CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT AND VILLAGE OF JOHNSON CREEK Joint Recreation Committee Meeting Minutes Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Village Board Room 4:45 p.m.

Committee Member Mike Garvey called the meeting to order

Members Present: Heidi Hartz, Ken Johnson, Michael Garvey, Bev Deppe, and Steve Wollin

Members Absent: Merisa Nicholson

Also Present: Recreation Director Chad Hayes, Village administrator Kyle Ellefson, Village President John Swisher, Eric Vaughn, Ashley Vaughn, and David Hucke

Dr. Garvey verified that the meeting was posted pursuant to s.s. 19.84(1) Wis. Statutes

Motion by Hartz/Johnson to approve the agenda as posted.

Motion by Johnson/Wollin to elect Heidi Hartz as the Chair of the Committee. Motion Carried.

Mrs. Hartz assumed the chair.

Motion by Garvey/Wollin to re-appointment Merisa Nicholson as the Community Representative to the Committee. Motion Carried.

Mr. Hayes gave his program report.

Eric Vaughn and David Hucke appeared to request the girls recreation basketball continue in both the ESYB as well as the Fort Atkinson league. The Committee concurred. Mr. Hayes indicated that the boys will most likely stick with just the ESYB league.

Mr. Hayes presented the Go Healthy Steps Program for consideration. The Village would waive the fees to use the Community Hall, if it was a recreation program. The participants would pay their participant fee directly to Fort Health. There would be no registration done by the recreation program. The Committee approved offering the program at no additional charge.

The Committee discussed possible ways to recognize coaches. No decisions were made.

Dr. Garvey gave a brief history of the Committee for the benefit of the two new committee members. He distributed copies of the Recreation Director and Recreation Coordinator position descriptions.

Dr. Garvey presented the financial report, to date.

Mr. Wollin announced that he would no longer be serving on the Recreation Committee. He is resigning from the Village Board due to moving out of the Village.

The next meeting will be August 21<sup>st</sup> at 4:45 p.m. in the School District Board room.

Motion by Wollin/Deppe to Adjourn. Motion Carried

Respectfully Submitted,

Michael P. Garvey, Ph.D. Committee Member